All about Life, Love, Technology, Travel, Fun

Lotsa Firsts in Malaysia

This is my third time to visit Malaysia. I must admit that everytime I am here, I’m lucky enough to still experience and see new things.

The first time I visited (that’s also my first overseas travel) was in 2006, thru Jopman Corporation’s company tour.

image

Mall & hotel in one at Sunway

The second time was in March 2013 and I came down here for about 2-3 weeks with the whole family. Yep! Complete family, with my nieces and nephews.

image

Not every Manansala was in this shot last 2013

And now, I’m back again this year.

Touring Malaysia is easy for us since we have relatives there. My father’s sister, my auntie Marie or tita Mayet as we fondly call her, married a very generous and loving Malaysian-Chinese who has always opened his home to the Manansalas.

image

Manansalas first invasion at the Yaps residence

Our first visit, (uh-huh! I said “our” because my siblings and I work for another auntie, together with our uncles, other aunts and cousins), we stayed at Sunway Resort Hotel. We were able to get discounts for our hotel because of auntie Marie & uncle Roy’s membership rates.

image

View at Sunway Resort Hotel

Our second and my third stay is at their house. Just imagine 20+ Manansalas underfoot for three weeks? Thank goodness they have a big house.

Not to mention how they (including my cousins who were already driving by then) have  taken us to various restaurants and they paid for every petrol & food. Generous, right? Not only with their time but with everything else.

Anyway, it’s nice to be back and just a day after the Chinese New Year (CNY). This is my first time to celebrate the lunar year abroad and also my first time to fly solo. I really feel so fortunate because I still get to experience a lot of firsts even though it’s already my 3rd time here.

image

A prosperous year of the sheep / goat to all!

Here, have a look at these other firsts:

Saw these items being sold in the grocer.

image

Don't actually know what flavor

image

Pineapple in your mouth, not in your hands

image

Lemon juice in a freaking lemon shaped container? Genius!

image

Never seen them packaged like this

image

My nieces & nephews wants me to bring home krabby patties

Experienced luo sang or yee sung and actually learned about this CNY tradition that involves tossing for luck.

image

First toss at Makan Kitchen in Double Tree Hotel

Ate deer meat that actually tasted like regular beef.

image

Deer meat at Makan Kitchen

Tasted goat meat curry or what Filipinos fondly call kambing.

image

Drank this barley drink that reminded me of sago’t gulamans back home.

image

Ice cold barley drink from Noble House Restaurant

Discovered this ripe plum’s juicy goodness.

image

Plum from my tita's fridge

It’s only been 2 weeks since I returned. Here’s to many more first experiences! #

Leave a comment